Symposium on emotional political ecology (29 August to 9 September 2022)

Massey University’s Political Ecology Research Centre, The Australian National University, Royal University of Phnom Penh, and POLLEN Political Ecology Network are convening a symposium on Emotional Political Ecology from 29 August to 9 September 2022.

Explore how emotions influence resource access, use, and control, and shape people’s everyday lives, and relationships with each other and the state through an exciting series of papers, commentaries and real time discussions.

Free, online,  open access – see this link for further details and to register: https://bit.ly/emotionalecology

Emotional Political Ecology Symposium Program

Workshop Opening Discussion: Monday 29th August  

Pre-recorded panel presentation videos live for viewing and discussion 

Featuring: 
Professor Andrea Nightingale 
Dr. April Bennett 
Dr. Sochanny Hak  
Link: https://massey.zoom.us/j/3350407554

Postgraduate Panel + Discussion: Thursday 8th September  

Convened by Leola Meynell and Matt Peryman 

Panel 1: Methodological questions in Emotional Political Ecology 

 With presentations by: 
Lisa Trogisch, Wageningen University 
Paola Solis, Justus-Liebig-Universität 
Daniel Read, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science 
Josie Wittmer, Queen’s University 

Discussants: Kanokwan Manorom  
Chair: Alice Beban 

Live session for this panel: Monday 5th September, 18:00 UTC
(Monday 10pm Amsterdam/Berlin; Monday 2PM NY;  Tuesday 6am Canberra; Tuesday 8am Auckland)   

Link: https://massey.zoom.us/j/3350407554

Panel 2: Care, commoning and restoration: Transforming human / non-human relationships through emotional political ecology  

With presentations by: 
Maureen W. Kinyanjui, University of Edinburgh  
Sony RK, Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment 
Karen Kinslow, University of Kentucky 
Wigke Capri, Universitas Gadjah Mada 

Discussant: Laura McKay 
Chair: Sopheak Chann 

Live session for this panel: Wednesday 7th September, 10:00 UTC
(Wednesday 6am NY; Wednesday 11am Edinburgh; Wednesday 3:30pm Bengaluru; Wednesday 5pm Jakarta; Wednesday 8pm Canberra; Wednesday 10pm Auckland)  

Link: https://massey.zoom.us/j/3350407554

Panel 3: Emotional Political Ecology in ruptured and uncertain worlds 

With presentations by: 
Anna Sturman and Blanche Verlie, University of Sydney  
Noémi Gonda, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences; and Andrea J. Nightingale, University of Oslo  
Sango Mahanty, Australian National University; and Sopheak Chann, Royal University of Phnom Penh 

Discussant: Siobhan McDonnell 
Chair: Sango Mahanty 

Live session for this panel: Friday 9th September, 10:00 UTC
(Friday 6am NY; Friday 11am Edinburgh; Friday 12pm Oslo/Berlin/Amsterdam; Friday 3:30pm Bengaluru; Friday 5pm Jakarta; Friday 8pm Canberra/Sydney; Friday 10pm Auckland)  

Link: https://massey.zoom.us/j/3350407554

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s